1 800 222 6872

Bryan Ferry: Another Time, Another Place

Album Reviews:

Q (12/99, p.158) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...[Ferry's] rarefied voice invests the covers with an eerie combination of sarcasm and tragedy....the readings of 'The In-Crowd' as an icy rocker is inspired, as is 'You Are My Sunshine' taken as heart-breaking gospel blues..."

Q (p.44) - "Ferry's second solo album is a crooner classic for its cover alone."

Album Notes

Personnel: Bryan Ferry (vocals, harmonica, organ, keyboards); John Porter, David O'List (guitar); John Wetton (fiddle, bass); Ruan O'Lochlainn (alto saxophone); Chris Mercer (tenor saxophone); Henry Lowther (trumpet); Chris Pyne (trombone); Paul Thompson (drums); Vicki Brown, Helen Chappelle, Barry St. John, Liza Strike (background vocals).

Recorded in 1974.

All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.

He's got them old foppish fin-de-siecle ennui blues again, mama. Ferry's second solo album is, rather explicitly, These Foolish Things Part Deux, at least conceptually. Once again, he covers--make that radically re-invents--a wildly eclectic bunch of songs, from "You Are My Sunshine" to Sam Cooke's "Wonderful World."

The results are still somewhat variable, given Ferry's vocal limitations, but the songs here seem more suited to his traditional mien of lounge lizard angst, and on balance ANOTHER TIME, ANOTHER PLACE is probably superior to its predecessor. For example, Ferry's take on Dobie Gray's "The In Crowd" makes that song's undercurrent of aggression palpable in a far more believable way than Gray's deliberately likeable original. Other high points include a commendably unsentimental version of Willie Nelson's "Funny How Time Slips Away," which works its way to a big, honking R&B finale, and a surprisingly touching C&W-like version of the aforementioned "You Are My Sunshine."


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product