1 800 222 6872

Tower of Power: East Bay Grease/Bump City

Track List

>Knock Yourself Out
>Social Lubrication
>Price, The
>Back on the Streets Again
>Skunk, the Goose, and the Fly, The
>Sparkling in the Sand
>You Got to Funkifize
>What Happened to the World That Day?
>Flash in the Pan
>Gone (In Memory of Jacqueline Mesquite)
>You Strike My Main Nerve
>Down to the Nightclub
>You're Still a Young Man
>Skating on Thin Ice
>Of the Earth

Album Notes

East Bay Grease (1970) and Bump City (1972), Tower of Power's first two albums, were individually reissued on CD, but those editions had been out of circulation for an extended period when Friday Music stepped in and reissued them once more with care. This set, released in 2015, combines both albums on one disc. Tower of Power were finding their footing and had yet to hit their Lenny Williams-fronted peak, but both albums have something to offer for fans of horn-driven soul and funk. "You're Still a Young Man," taken from the latter album, was the band's first charting single. ~ Andy Kellman


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review