1 800 222 6872

Doc Evans: Doc Evans + 4 = Dixie

Track List

>After You've Gone
>Don't Take Your Love from Me
>Blue Turning Grey over You
>Blue and Broken Hearted
>I Cover the Waterfront
>You're the Cream in My Coffee
>Tea for Two
>On the Sunny Side of the Street

Album Notes

Personnel: Doc Evans (cornet); Don Anderson (guitar); Knocky Parker (piano); Red Maddock (drums).

Recording information: 1959.

This album was a change of pace in Doc Evans' career, for the Dixieland-oriented cornetist is the only horn in a quintet, playing primarily swing standards. Evans, an underrated but talented player, improvises in a melodic and pleasing fashion on such tunes as "After You've Gone," "Don't Take Your Love From Me," "You're the Cream in My Coffee," and "Cherry." He is in a mellow mood throughout (even when the tempos are a little faster) and the four-piece rhythm section (which includes pianist Knocky Parker) is supportive and lightly swinging. A delight. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review