1 800 222 6872

Andy Vores (b.1956): 'The Reckless Heart,' song cycle; Songs of Barber, Britten & Gurney / Kendra Colton, soprano; Kayo Iwama, piano

Audio Samples

  1. Hermit Songs, Op. 29: No. 2, Church Bell at Night $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Hermit Songs, Op. 29: No. 4, The Heavenly Banquet $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Hermit Songs, Op. 29: No. 5, The Crucifixion $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Hermit Songs, Op. 29: No. 6, Sea-Snatch $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Hermit Songs, Op. 29: No. 7, Promiscuity $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Hermit Songs, Op. 29: No. 8, The Monk and His Cat $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Hermit Songs, Op. 29: No. 9, The Praises of God $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Hermit Songs, Op. 29: No. 10, The Desire for Hermitage $0.99 on iTunes
  9. The Reckless Heart: No. 1, If the Soul Was Born with Pinions $0.99 on iTunes
  10. The Reckless Heart: No. 2, Dora Williams $0.99 on iTunes
  11. The Reckless Heart: No. 3, On Foot I Had to Walk Through the Solar Systems $0.99 on iTunes
  12. The Reckless Heart: No. 4, My Roaring Boy $0.99 on iTunes
  13. The Reckless Heart: No. 5, Beyond the Hunting Woods $0.99 on iTunes
  14. 5 Elizabethan Songs: No. 1, Orpheus with His Lute $0.99 on iTunes
  15. 5 Elizabethan Songs: No. 2, Tears $0.99 on iTunes
  16. 5 Elizabethan Songs: No. 3, Under the Greenwood Tree $0.99 on iTunes
  17. 5 Elizabethan Songs: No. 4, Sleep $0.99 on iTunes
  18. 5 Elizabethan Songs: No. 5, Spring $0.99 on iTunes
  19. A 1st Volume of 10 Songs: No. 4, Down by the Salley Gardens $0.99 on iTunes
  20. Folk Song Arrangements, Vol. 1 "British Isles": No. 1, The Salley Gardens $0.99 on iTunes
  21. On This Island, Op. 11: No. 1, Let the Florid Music Praise $0.99 on iTunes
  22. On This Island, Op. 11: No. 2, Now the Leaves Are Falling Fast $0.99 on iTunes
  23. On This Island, Op. 11: No. 3, Seascape $0.99 on iTunes
  24. On This Island, Op. 11: No. 4, Nocturne $0.99 on iTunes
  25. On This Island, Op. 11: No. 5, As It Is, Plenty $0.99 on iTunes

Notes & Reviews:

American soprano Kendra Colton is an imaginative and virtuosic singer adept at a wide range of repertoire, from Baroque opera and oratorio to contemporary music. On The Reckless Heart, she joins forces with longtime collaborator Kayo Iwama on an eclectic set of songs created for Colton by Welsh composer Andy Vores. The songs are presented here with master works by composers whose creations share Vores' British Isle roots: Samuel Barber's Hermit Songs and Benjamin Britten's The Salley Gardens and On This Island. Also included is a less-familiar cycle, Ivor Gurney's Five Elizabethan Songs.

American Record Guide, September/October 2015
This is a very nice recital including staples of the English language song literature and a new piece by Welsh composer Andy Vores. Colton's voice is round and consistent and Iwama's playing, warm, confident and supportive. The program opens with Barber's quintessential Hermit Songs. The interpretation is standard and what is here is quite good. The Reckless Heart (Vores) is difficult, interesting music. It is indeed restless as well as harmonically and melodically ambitious. 'Dora Williams', with its meandering counterpoint, mirrors the meandering of text, a woman restless in the space of her body. 'My Roaring Boy's' final soaring melodic line in the voice is immediately followed by near stillness, an effect that arouses a sort of restlessness in the listener. It's terrific writing; this piece then leads right into the final song, almost like a response.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review