1 800 222 6872

Jon Regen: Stop Time [Digipak]

Track List

>I Will Wait
>Morning Papers
>Run to Me
>Stop Time
>Walk on Water
>Home Again
>Chapter Two
>These Are the Days

Album Reviews:

Paste (magazine) - "Regen's playing a grand piano here, and its rich warmth reverberates throughout the record, flanking his husky vocals and shouldering the melodies between the lines."

Album Notes

Personnel: Mitchell Froom (keyboards, programming).

Audio Mixer: David Boucher.

Liner Note Author: Jon Regen.

Recording information: House Of Nuts, Santa Monica, CA (09/03/2014-09/23/2014); Studio BB, New York, NY (09/03/2014-09/23/2014).

Photographer: Rebecca Meek.

Stop Time is the sixth album to Jon Regen's name but it's better to view the 2015 release as the sequel to 2011's Revolution. On that record, the pianist eased over from jazz to a pop/rock that recalled the melodic, keyboard-fueled singer/songwriters of the '70s -- think Billy Joel crossed with echoes of Boz Scaggs and Steely Dan -- but with a more sophisticated swing. With Stop Time, Regen goes even further into pop, sharpening his songs while deepening his groove. With regard to the latter, he's assisted by the crackerjack rhythm section of drummer Pete Thomas and bassist Davey Faragher -- aka Elvis Costello's Imposters, minus Steve Nieve -- and producer Mitchell Froom helps give Stop Time an elasticity that shifts between saloon songs, exquisitely detailed pop, and casual shuffles like the title track. Throughout it all, Regen is the star: possessing a sly wit and nimble touch, he slides into lyrical solos without losing sight of his songs, a skill that gives this album a rich, lasting resonance. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review