1 800 222 6872

The Mavericks: The Mavericks [2003]

Track List

>I Want to Know
>In My Dreams
>Shine Your Light
>I'm Wondering
>By the Time
>Would You Believe?
>Too Lonely
>Time Goes By
>San Jose
>Because of You
>Air That I Breathe

Album Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly (10/24/03, p.107) - "...Nonclassifiable and thus classic Mavericks, a musical tour of romance that ranges from rumba [and] '70s country rock [to] pink-chiffon balladry from an Eisenhower-era ballroom..." - Rating: B+

Album Notes

The Mavericks: Raul Malo (vocals, guitar, melodica); Eddie Perez (guitar, background vocals); Robert Reynolds (bass, background vocals); Paul Deakin (drums).

Additional personnel includes: Willie Nelson (vocals).

Principally recorded at Ocean Way, Nashville, Tennessee and Ken's Gold Club, Franklin, Tennessee.

Audio Mixers: Dave McNair; Michael Brauer.

Recording information: Bismeaux Studio; Ken's Gold Club, Franklin, TN; OceanWay Studios, Nashville.

Photographer: C. Taylor Cruthers.

The Mavericks shook up country music in the 1990s with their combination of snappy, neo-traditional honky tonk and un-ironic retro pop-rock styles, and then went on an extended hiatus. 2003's THE MAVERICKS (not to be confused with their eponymous debut album) finds them resuming where they left off--they present a tight, accomplished but heartfelt program of winsome ballads ("A Little Too Lonely"), Cuban-influenced numbers ("Shine A Light"), and classic '70s pop (a lovely cover of the Hollies hit "The Air That I Breathe"). As a bonus, the original "maverick" of country music, Willie Nelson, guests on "Time Goes By."


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review