1 800 222 6872

Tower of Power: Monster on a Leash

Album Notes

Tower Of Power: Tom Bower (vocals), Emilio Castillo (tenor sax, vocals), Stephen Kupka (baritone sax), Greg Adams (trumpet, flugelhorn, background vocals), Lee Thornburg (trumpet, vocals) Steve Grove (tenor and alto saxophones, background vocals), Russ McKinnon (drums), Rocco Prestia (bass), Carmen Grillo (guitar, background vocals) Nick Milo (keyboards, background vocals).

Tower Of Power emerged in the '90s with the their best album in a while, MONSTER ON A LEASH. Fronted by the stylish vocal style of Tom Bowes and fueled by newcomers like drummer Russ McKinnon, guitarist Carmen Grillo, and keyboardist Nick Milo, the band was once again an energized, powerful entity. Founders Emilio Castillo, Stephen "Doc" Kupka, and Rocco Prestia had survived the lean years of the late '70s and '80s and with this release were poised to enter the most healthy era of the band since their early '70s heyday.

Gone from MONSTER is the synthesizer-colored slickness that hindered the majority of TOP's '80s releases. Instead, the music has returned to the tight, syncopated funk with strong horn punctuation that made them world renown. Bowes proves to be a fiery frontman that commands attention on uptempo poppers like the opening "A Little Knowledge (Is A Dangerous Thing)" and "Who Do You Think You Are." The funky highlight of the set, however, is the stellar "Attitude Dance," a track that alone signaled the return of the classic TOP style. Other excellent cuts on this comeback include the Castillo feature "Funk The Dumb Stuff," and the socially commentary title track.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review