1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Violin Concerto; Symphony No. 8; Brahms: String Sextet / Augustin Dumay, violin; Sinfonia Varsovia

Conductor Ensemble

Notes & Reviews:

Performing the dual role of soloist and conductor, Augustin Dumay leads the Sinfonia Varsovia in Beethoven's Violin Concerto. The concerto is paired here with Beethoven's compact, extrovert and high spirited Symphony No.8. The music captures his boisterous humor, especially in the closing minutes of the work. The second disc features Brahms's String Sextet No.1. His chamber music for strings begins not with a quartet, which would have invited comparison with Beethoven, but with a sextet. The lush sounds of the additional instruments provided a darker sonority that suited Brahms's complex and rich contrapuntal and tonal palate. The work's premiere was led by Joseph Joachim, a champion of the Beethoven concerto, and a lifelong friend of Brahms.

Gramophone Magazine, July 2015
Perhaps not every gesture convinces, but better that than an anodyne, safety-first approach; rest assured, there's no whiff of stale routine, and Dumay's customary stylish, raptly intense showing, to say nothing of his subtly variegated tonal palette, will enthral his many admirers.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased