1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Missa Solemnis / Genia Kuhmeier, Elisabeth Kulman, Mark Padmore, Hanno Muller-Brachmann. Bavarian Radio SO, Haitink

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Missa solemnis in D major, Op. 123
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The BR-KLASSIK label has already released several recordings with Bernard Haitink, who has now been connected with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks for over 55 years. Following Bruckner's Fifth Symphony, Mahler's Ninth and Haydn's "Creation," BR-KLASSIK now presents a live recording of Ludwig van Beethoven's "Missa Solemnis" - a work performed for the recording market for the first time under the baton of Bernard Haitink. The musical partners of this grand seigneur among world-class conductors are the Choir and Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks as well as a finely coordinated ensemble of soloists, consisting of Genia Kühmeier, Elisabeth Kulman, Mark Padmore and Hanno Müller-Brachmann.

American Record Guide
The soloists are well suited to the bel canto task, especially Kuhmeier and Padmore, who sing sweetly where so many others squawk and bellow. True to Haitink's priorities, the engineering brings the liturgy front and center. Nothing is drowned out by the orchestra... it is the most resolutely prayerful. For that reason, I welcome it to the catalog and to a place of honor on my shelf.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Herkulessaal der Residenz, München (09/25/2014-09/26/2014).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Missa solemnis in D major, Op. 123
  • Performers: Anton Barachovsky (Violin); Genia Kühmeier (Soprano); Elisabeth Kulman (Mezzo-soprano); Hanno Muller-Brachmann (Bass Baritone); Mark Padmore
  • Conductor: Bernard Haitink
  • Ensemble: Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Herkulessaal der Residenz, München (09/25/2014-09/26/2014)
  • Running Time: 63 min. 29 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1819-1823