1 800 222 6872

Gore Tech: Futurphobia

Track List

>>_Run (William Gibson)
>Zerofinity Event, The
>Optical Hybrid
>Ghost Particle, The
>Plague of Zion, The
>Hex Spectrum
>In Exilium
>Stems [Gore Tech Rework] - (remix)

Album Notes

Audio Mixer: Ben Lukas Boysen.

Following EPs on labels such as Peace Off, Murder Channel, and Sonicterror, British breakcore/dubstep producer Gore Tech's Ad Noiseam-released, full-length debut Futurphobia is a Neuromancer-obsessed hybrid of dub, industrial, metal, and jungle. Opening with the words of William Gibson himself, the album featured tightly edited, explosive breakbeats and speaker-demolishing growling bass along with metal guitar riffs (particularly on "Dubwar") and aggressive dancehall reggae samples. Standouts "The Ghost Particle" and "The Plague of Zion" are especially reminiscent of ragga-core artists such as Bong-Ra and Rotator, and are as exciting as their best work. "Organica" steps back from the harsher sounds for a percussive, clanging industrial track. "Mechanica" (co-produced by Hecq) takes the same rhythm and twists it around, adding manipulated breakbeats and buzzing bass. The album's final tracks use sinister strings to augment their dark, foreboding atmospheres. The album's dubstep elements can occasionally get tiresome and brain numbing, but the majority of the album's 11 tracks are thrilling, and offer an exciting interpretation of 21st century technological dread. ~ Paul Simpson


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review