1 800 222 6872

Young Zee: Musical Meltdown

Track List

>Toxic Waste - (featuring Loon One)
>Don't Fuck with New Jersey
>Tonsil Check - (featuring Yah Yah)
>Nerve Plucker
>Stay Gold - (featuring Yah Yah/Lauryn Hill)
>Crazy - (featuring KRS-One)
>Ez Widaz - (featuring Loon One/Pacewon)
>Juice - (featuring Rah Digga)
>Milk - (featuring KRS-One/Busta Rhymes)
>Jack Mode
>Baby L
>Electric Chair - (featuring D.U./Pacewon)
>Hello Interlude
>Everybody Get
>Everybody Get [Remix] - (remix)
>No Brains Skit

Album Reviews:

Vibe (6/96, p.134) - "...Zee sounds like...[someone] who's opposed to today's funk-bastardizing, murder-mouthing, chart-topping tactics....Zee proves that compact beats and ingenious similes can still move a crowd."

Rap Pages (7/96, p.32) - 7 (out of 10) - "...Zee backs up his glowing praise with some dope-ass music....Zee is rap's best new artist..."

Album Notes

Personnel includes: Young Zee, Lauryn Hill, KRS-One, Busta Rhymes.

Producers include: KRS-One, Redman, Jam Master Jay, Twista, Prestige.

Young Zee attracted some attention through his appearance on the Fugees' "Cowboys," which didn't quite prepare his audience for the sound of his debut, Musical Meltdown. On the basis of the record, Young Zee has more in common with the stripped-down, minimalist funk of rappers like Redman, not the organic eclectic funk of the Fugees. Nevertheless, Musical Meltdown is refreshing. Young Zee consciously avoids many standard gangsta rap clichés -- he openly dimisses them on several tracks, as a matter of fact -- which gives the album a spark. That doesn't mean it's without flaws -- he's an average rapper, without a particularly distinctive flair for rhymes or beats. Even so, he delivers the goods -- just don't expect something revolutionary. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review