1 800 222 6872

Kamran Ince (b.1960): Judgment of Midas, opera / Matthew DiBattista, tenor; Abigail Fischer, mezzo-soprano; Gregory Gerbrandt, baritone; Jennifer Goltz, soprano; Mikhail Svetlov, bass

Album Summary

>Ince, Kamran : Judgement of Midas, opera
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The opera Judgment of Midas was commissioned by Crawford Greenewalt, Jr. to mark the 50th anniversary of the Sardis excavations in Turkey. Composer Kamran Ince took two stories, inspired by a tale from Ovid's Metamorphoses, as the basis for the opera. The stories interweave around the ancient city of Sardis and a mythic music contest said to have happened there. Turkish/American composer Kamran Ince's music bridges Anatolia and the Balkans to the West. The energy and rawness of Turkish and Balkan folk music, the spirituality of Byzantium and Ottoman court music, the tradition of European art music and the extrovert and popular qualities in the American psyche are the base of his sound world. Acknowledged as one of America's best composers, Ince is Professor of Composition at the University of Memphis and at MIAM Center for Advanced Research in Music in Istanbul. His numerous prizes include the Rome Prize, the Guggenheim Fellowship, the Boulanger Prize and the Arts and Letters Award in Music from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His extensive discography appears on Warner Classics, Naxos, Innova, Argo/Decca, and Albany Records.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Ince, Kamran : Judgement of Midas, opera
  • Performers: Matthew DiBattista (Tenor); Abigail Fischer; Gregory Gerbrandt; Jennifer Goltz (Soprano); Phillip Horst (Bass Baritone); Mikhail Svetlov (Tenor)
  • Conductor: Kamran Ince
  • Ensemble: Milwaukee Opera Theatre Chorus
  • Running Time: 103 min. 22 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 2013