1 800 222 6872

Leos Janácek: Jenufa / Dunja Vejzovic, Ales Briscein, Taylan Reinhard, Iris Vermillion, Gal James, David McShane, Konstantin Sfiris. Grazer PO & Choir, Kirk Kaftan

Album Summary

>Janácek, Leos [Composer] : Jenufa, opera, JW 1/4
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Iris Vermillion stars as the Sacristan with the Graz Philharmonic and the Choir of the Graz Opera conducted by Dirk Kaftan for the first co-production of Oehms Classics and Graz Opera in this new recording of Leo Janácek’s Jenufa, a desperate tale of infanticide, shame, punishment and redemptive love that becomes a psycho-thriller here, even without the visual components. As Jenufa, and in other recent leading roles including Elsa (Lohengrin) and Mimi (La Boheme), Israeli soprano Gal James is rapidly gaining recognition as a one of the most important voices of her generation.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Oper Graz (2014-05-07&2014-05-17&2014-).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Janácek, Leos [Composer] : Jenufa, opera, JW 1/4
  • Performers: David McShane (Voice); Dunja Vejzovic (Mezzo Soprano); Ales Briscein (Voice); Konstantin Sfiris (Baritone); Iris Vermillion (Mezzo Soprano); Taylan Reinhard (Voice); Gal James (Mezzo Soprano); Fuyu Iwaki (Voice); Fran Lubahn (Voice); Xiaoyi Xu (Voice); Tatjana Miyus (Voice); Stafanie Hierlmeier (Voice); Nazanin Ezazi (Voice); Istvan Szecsi (Voice); Hana Batinic (Voice)
  • Conductor: Dirk Kaftan
  • Ensemble: Grazer Philharmonisches Orchester
  • Notes: Oper Graz (2014-05-07&2014-05-17&2014-)
  • Running Time: 1 min. 52 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1894-1903