1 800 222 6872

Count Basie & His Orchestra/Count Basie: Kansas City Suite: The Music of Benny Carter

Album Notes

Personnel: Count Basie (piano); Sonny Cohn, Thad Jones, Joe Newman, Snooky Young (trumpet); Henry Coker, Al Grey, Benny Powell (trombone); Marshall Royal, Frank Wess, Frank Foster, Billy Mitchell, Charles Fowlkes (reeds); Freddie Green (guitar); Eddie Jones (bass); Sonny Payne (drums).

All songs written by Benny Carter.

These two 1960 sessions gave Benny Carter a unique chance to write a full program for Count Basie's orchestra. Arranged as a type of suite, the ten originals pay tribute to the various Kansas City clubs that were active in the '30s when Basie was a resident. The band swings throughout as usual, with concise solos adding color to this memorable modern session. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product