1 800 222 6872

Boney James: Seduction

Album Notes

Personnel: Boney James (soprano, alto & tenor saxophones, Mini-Moog, keyboards, synthesizer); Daddy Shakespeare (vocals); Dan Higgins (tenor saxophone); Jerry Hey (trumpet, flugelhorn); Rick Braun (flugelhorn); Bill Reichenbach (trombone); Bob James (piano); David Torkanowsky, Darrell Smith (piano, keyboards); Leon Bisquera, Michael Egizi (keyboards); Dwayne "Smitty" Smith (synthesizer); Tony Maiden, Carl Burnett, Paul Jackson, Jr., A. Ray "The Weeper" Fuller, Jr., Marcos Loya (guitar); Roberto Vally (bass, electric bass); Me'Shell NdegeOcello (bass); Donnell Spencer, Jr. (drums); Peter Erskine (drums, cymbals); Lenny Castro (percussion); Paul Brown (hand claps); Eric Cadieux (special effects); Leslie Smith, Roy Galloway, Jeff Pescetto (background vocals).

All songs written or co-written by James Oppenheim and/or Paul Brown except "Sara Smile" (Daryl Hall/John Oates) and "Ain't No Sunshine" (Bill Withers).

Boney James comes from somewhere over in the easy listening corner of jazz, with rhythms bordering on funk in one direction and soft soul in the other, with a lot of programmed drums (very well done) and deep, dark synth bass. Sometimes a male voice will venture out into the mix, but this isn't a particularly significant portion of the program -- just the right sort of sound for this kind of laid-back, late-night, easy listening material. James himself handles alto, tenor, and soprano sax duties with ease, playing relaxed, weaving lines throughout each cut and working with some decidedly pleasant arrangements. Seduction is smooth and self-assured. ~ Steven McDonald


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product