1 800 222 6872

Ziv Ravitz/Christoph Irniger/Raffaele Bossard/Christoph Irniger Trio: Octopus

Track List

>Ocean Avenue
>Blue Tips
>Dancin' Structure
>Cripple X
>Peace in the End

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

After the acclaimed album ‘Gowanus Canal’ in 2012, ‘Octopus’ is Christoph Irniger’s second release with his trio of Raffaele Bossard (double bass) and Ziv Ravitz (drums). The album is a studio recording from last autumn and shows the ensemble in fantastic shape. Irniger is a master of orchestration and rejects the hierarchy of soloist-plus-rhythm. Instead of using the compositions as springboards for solos, he finds interesting ways for the improvisations to underline the compositional characteristics. ‘Melody, arrangement, improvisation: the trio fuse them all into one tightly integrated and alluring package,’ writes American jazz critic Kevin Whitehead, and emphasizing the strength of Irninger’s melodies he asks: ‘Why should pop bands (and their listeners) have all the fun?’

Album Notes

Personnel: Ziv Ravitz (drums); Christoph Irniger (tenor saxophone).

Audio Mixer: Ziv Ravitz.

Liner Note Author: Kevin Whitehead.

Recording information: Studio La Fonderie, Fribourg (12/2014).

Photographer: Peter Purgar.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review