1 800 222 6872

Théodore Gouvy: The Complete Symphonies (6); Symphonie Breve, Op. 58 / Deutsche Radio PO, Jacques Mercier

Notes & Reviews:

Born in 1819 as a Prussian citizen in a Saarbru¨cken suburb then named Goffontaine (today’s Scheidt-Schafbru¨cke), when Louis Théodore Gouvy died in 1898 he was regarded as a Frenchman in Germany and as a German in France. No other foreign composer’s works were performed as frequently in Leipzig during the 1850s as those by Gouvy. In his symphonic oeuvre, Gouvy displays the bravura and clarté that his contemporaries valued in his music. “Melodic richness, natural sovereignty in the treatment of harmony, and a completely unaffected originality play[ed] with fine nuance” (klassik-heute)


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased