1 800 222 6872

British Clarinet Quintets: Works by Sir Arthur Somervell, Samuel Coleridge-Taylor & Richard Walthew / Stephan Siegenthaler, clarinet; Leipzig SQ

Notes & Reviews:

The Leipzig String Quartet, “Germany’s best quartet” (Gramophone), along with clarinetist Stephan Siegenthaler present English clarinet quintets on cpo. Composers C. V. Stanford (1852-1924) and Hubert Parry (1848-1918) exerted considerable influence on many English composers in the early 20th c., tirelessly transmitting their enthusiasm for Brahms to their pupils. They left their mark on a whole generation of students, including Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, Richard Walthew and Sir Arthur Somervell, whose refined, complex and rhythmically spirited quintets are heard on this new release.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased