1 800 222 6872

Alfred Schnittke: Symphony No. 1 / The USSR State Symphony Orchestra; Rozhdestvensky

Album Summary

>Schnittke, Alfred : Symphony no 1
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Firma Melodiya presents a recording of Alfred Schnittke’s Symphony No. 1, one of the conceptual masterpieces of domestic music from the late 20th century. Schnittke, an outstanding master of Russian music avant-garde, composed the symphony in 1969 to 1972. The composer’s first large-scale orchestral piece made an epoch in history of symphonic music in general combining for the first time the traditions with radical innovation, a two-century branch of the evolution of the symphonic genre with an ultimately modern musical language through the techniques of dodecaphony, aleatoric music, polystylistic devices, jazz improvisation and the so-called instrumental theatre. The symphony was dedicated to its first performer and outstanding conductor Gennady Rozhdestvensky who was an ardent advocate of Schnittke’s music and also initiated its recording. That recording is featured in the release.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: 1987.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Schnittke, Alfred : Symphony no 1
  • Performers: Tatiana Fridliand (Organ); Rashit Galeyev (Trombone); Victor Guseinov (Trumpet); Paul Magi (Violin); Sergei Soloviev (Timpani)
  • Conductor: Gennady Rozhdestvensky
  • Ensemble: The USSR Ministry of Culture State Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 64 min. 14 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1972