1 800 222 6872

Arnold Schoenberg: Gurre-Lieder / Barbara Haveman, Brandon Jovanovich, Thomas Bauer, Gerhard Siegel, Claudia Mahnka. Gurzenich-Orchester Koln

Audio Samples

  1. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 1 No. 1. Vorspiel $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 1 No. 3. O, wenn des Mondes Strahlen milde gleiten (Tove) $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 1 No. 4. Ross! Mein Ross! Was schleichst du so träg? (Waldemar) $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 1 No. 5. Sterne jubeln, das Meer, es leuchtet (Tove) $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 1 No. 6. So tanzen die Engel vor Gottes Thron nicht (Waldemar) $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 1 No. 7. Nun sag ich dir zum ersten Mal (Tove) $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 1 No. 8. Es ist Mitternachtszeit (Waldemar) $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 1 No. 9. Du sendest mir einen Liebesblick (Tove) $0.99 on iTunes
  9. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 1 No. 10. Du wunderliche Tove! (Waldemar) $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 1 No. 11. Zwischenspiel $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 1 No. 12. Tauben von Gurre! Sorge quält mich (Stimme der Waldtaube)
  12. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 2. Herrgott, weisst du, was du tatest (Waldemar) $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 3 No. 1. Erwacht, König Waldemars Mannen wert! (Waldemar) $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 3 No. 2. Deckel des Sarges klappert und klappt (Bauer/Männerchor) $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 3 No. 3. Gegrüsst, o König, an Gurre-Seestrand! (Waldemars Mannen) $0.99 on iTunes
  16. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 3 No. 4. Mit Toves Stimme flüstert der Wald (Waldemar) $0.99 on iTunes
  17. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 3 No. 6. Du strenger Richter droben (Waldemar) $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 3 No. 7. Der Hahn erhebt den Kopf zur Kraht (Waldemars Mannen) $0.99 on iTunes
  19. Schoenberg — Gurre-Lieder: Part 3 No. 8. Des Sommerwindes wilde Jagd: Vorspiel - Herr Gänsefuss, Frau Gänsekraut (Sprecher) - Seht die Sonne (Chor)

Album Summary

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Gurrelieder
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The Gürzenich-Orchester of Cologne has a pedigree second to none. It can count Gustav Mahler and Richard Strauss among those who have entrusted it with premieres of their works, and when you hear this new recording the reasons for this are clear. Devastating brass combines with mellifluous winds and strings in a performance of Schoenberg's late Romantic masterpiece. Markus Stenz conducts a fine lineup of soloists and marshals the massed choirs in this most epic of works with style and aplomb.

Financial Times, 26th June 2015
Live recording's cast is swept along with Tlan by conductor Markus Stenz.

The star of the set is undoubtedly tenor Brandon Jovanovich as Waldemar; his baritonal timbre suits the piece well, particularly the relatively low writing given to him for his first entry, but his top notes ring when necessary...the Cologne woodwind are on top form, as indeed is everyone in this fine new recording of a wonderfully colourful and dramatic piece.

Sunday Times, 28th June 2015
This superb performance crowns Stenz's tenure as Cologne's general music director, with opulent playing from the Gnrzenichers and six Cologne and Dutch choirs. Brandon Jovanovich's thrilling Waldemar and Claudia Mahnke's plangent Wood Dove are the pick of a fine team of soloists.

The Guardian, 25th June 2015
A good resumT of Stenz's qualities, his confidence in handling massive forces and his affinity with music composed on the cusp of modernism; he's at his best in passages such as the orchestral interlude that precedes the Song of the Wood Dove...and the Wild Hunt of the Summer Wind.

Gramophone Magazine, August 2015
Excellent performances throughout from orchestra, soloists and choruses - rarely have the lush textures of Schoenberg's late-Romantic cantata sounded this fresh.

BBC Music Magazine, October 2015
Makes a vivid and spacious overall impression thanks to the alternately measured and passionate sway of Markus Stenz and the golden tones of the Gurzenich Orchestra. It is also strongly cast with the heroic Brandon Jovanovich and the full-voiced Barbara Haveman as the illicit lovers.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Kölner Philharmonie (06/01/2014-06/04/2014).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Schoenberg, Arnold : Gurrelieder
  • Conductor: Markus Stenz
  • Ensemble: Gurzenich-Orchester Koln
  • Notes: Kölner Philharmonie (06/01/2014-06/04/2014)
  • Running Time: 91 min. 14 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 1900-1911