1 800 222 6872

Sarah Kirkland Snider: Unremembered, song cycle for seven voices, chamber orchestra & electronics / Padma Newsome, DM Stith, Shara Worden, Unremembered Orchestra, Edwin Outwater

Album Summary

>Snider, Sarah Kirkland : Unremembered, song cycle for 7 voices & chamber orchestra
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Composer Sarah Kirkland Snider's Unremembered is an hour-long, thirteen-part song cycle for seven voices, chamber orchestra, and electronics, inspired by poems and illustrations by published writer and visual artist Nathaniel Bellows. Four years in the making, Unremembered, featuring vocalists Padma Newsome (Clogs), DM Stith, and Shara Worden (My Brightest Diamond), and the Unremembered Orchestra (members of ACME, Alarm Will Sound, ICE, The Knights, So Percussion), conducted by Edwin Outwater (Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony, San Francisco Symphony, Chicago Symphony) is a meditation on memory, innocence, and the haunted grandeur of the natural world. Unremembered recalls strange and beautiful happenings experienced during a childhood in rural Massachusetts. Through Bellows's moving words and images and Snider's vivid, fraught, astonishing score, the cycle explores the ways in which beguiling events in early life can resonate in-and prepare us for-the subtler horrors that lie beyond the realm of childhood.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Good Child Music Studios, Brooklyn, NY; Home, Mallacoota, Victoria, Australia; Water Music, Hoboken, NJ.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Snider, Sarah Kirkland : Unremembered, song cycle for 7 voices & chamber orchestra
  • Performers: Padma Newsome (Voice); D.M. Stith (Voice); Shara Worden (Voice)
  • Conductor: Edwin Outwater
  • Ensemble: Unremembered Orchestra
  • Running Time: 51 min. 22 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2011-2012