1 800 222 6872

Jimmy Burns (guitarist): It Ain't Right *

Track List

>Big Money Problem
>Will I Ever Find Somebody?
>Snaggletooth Mule
>Long as You're Mine
>Hard Hearted Woman
>My Heart Is Hangin' Heavy
>Crazy Crazy Crazy
>String to Your Heart, A
>Rock Awhile
>Stand by Me
>I Know You Hear Me Calling
>It Ain't Right
>Messin' with the Kid
>Wade in the Water

Album Notes

Personnel: Jimmy Burns (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Anthony Palmer (guitar); Ariyo Sumito Ariyoshi (piano); Bryant "T" Parker (drums, background vocals).

Audio Mixer: Steve Wagner .

Liner Note Authors: Debra Lewis; Dick Shurman; Jimmy Burns .

Recording information: Riverside Studio, Chicago (02/18/2015/02/19/2015).

It Ain't Right is Jimmy Burns' first studio set in a long time -- 12 years, to be precise, a belated sequel to 2003's Back to the Delta. It Ain't Right doesn't make any pretenses about returning to Burns' Mississippi roots but rather settles into a wonderfully textured soulful groove, something relaxed and elastic, a sound that gives plenty of space to both his clean, hopping guitar and robust vocals. Although the album is devoid of originals, he manages to spin songs by Bobby Rush, Jimmy Reed, Percy Mayfield, Little Walter, and Lowman Pauling toward his soulful style, even finding a way to turn Ben E. King's "Stand by Me" into a bit of an uptempo groover. Not everything here is sprightly, not by a long shot, but the things that stick recall the easy elegance of Sam Cooke, whether it's on the deceptively chipper "Will I Ever Find Somebody?" or the churchy closer "Wade in the Water," and they help turn It Ain't Right into something of a relaxed, heartfelt celebration. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review