1 800 222 6872

Dvorak: Cello Concerto, Op. 104; Lalo: Cello Concerto in D minor / Johannes Moser, cello. Jakub Hrusa, Prague PO

Album Summary

>Dvorak, Antonin : Concerto for Cello in B minor, Op. 104/B 191
>Lalo, Edouard : Concerto for Cello in D minor
Performer Conductors Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

German-Canadian international soloist Johannes Moser recently signed an exclusive recording contract with Pentatone. A regular performer with the world's major orchestras and most famous conductors, he has received many accolades for his recordings to date, including two ECHO Klassik awards and the Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik. The first work Mr. Moser chose for his Pentatone debut is a pinnacle of the instrument's repertoire, Antonín Dvorák's Cello Concerto. In preparation for this recording, Mr. Moser and PKF - Prague Philharmonia conductor Jakub Hrua consulted the composer's handwritten manuscript, relying on accuracy rather than unquestioned tradition for their interpretation. Édouard Lalo's Cello Concerto, a work of great verve that fully embodies Spanish flair combined romantic spirit, completes Mr. Moser's debut album.

Gramophone Magazine, Awards Issue 2015
With rhythmically taut and well-drilled orchestral support under Jakub Hrua, Johannes Moser projects a full tone with no loss of presence when he ventures among the instrument's higher reaches...The recorded sound is, like the playing, absolutely top-notch...this new version is up there with the best of them and could happily serve as a credible first choice.

BBC Music Magazine, December 2015
Moser gives us an exciting, high-tension ride with an impressive sense of structure. He's a musician of alacrity, power and style: virtuosic passages benefit from his fleet effortlessness.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Forum Karlin in Prague (01/2015).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Dvorak, Antonin : Concerto for Cello in B minor, Op. 104/B 191
  • Performer: Johannes Moser (Cello)
  • Conductor: Jakub HruÜa
  • Ensemble: Prague Philharmonia
  • Running Time: 38 min. 13 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Concerto

>Lalo, Edouard : Concerto for Cello in D minor
  • Performer: Johannes Moser (Cello)
  • Conductor: Jakub Hrusa
  • Ensemble: Prague Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Running Time: 26 min. 35 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1877