1 800 222 6872

Jeff Beck/Jeff Beck Group: Jeff Beck Group

Track List

>Ice Cream Cakes
>Glad All Over
>Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You
>Sugar Cane
>I Can't Give Back the Love I Feel for You
>Going Down
>I Got to Have a Song
>Definitely Maybe

Album Notes

Personnel: Jeff Beck (guitar); Bob Tench (vocals); Max Middleton (piano); Cozy Powell (drums).

Recording information: Trans Maximus Inc. Sound Studios, Memphis, Tennessee.

After a life-threatening car accident forced him to take an extended break, guitarist extraordinaire Jeff Beck re-emerged in 1971 with a new band, a new album (Rough and Ready), and an attempt to merge a soulful Memphis sound with hard rock. 1972's Jeff Beck Group shows that Beck was already moving beyond his soul-rock hybrid and sowing the seeds for his exceptional mid-'70s jazz/rock fusion work.

Jeff Beck Group also served as a precursor to Beck's next project, the blues-soul-rock trio Beck, Bogart & Appice. Produced by Booker T. & the M.G.'s guitarist Steve Cropper, Jeff Beck Group contains "Going Down," one of Beck's best-known tracks and a perennial concert favorite, as well as the album-opening highlight "Ice Cream Cakes." An important, transitional album in the career of this stylistically adventurous guitarist. ~ Rovi Staff


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review