1 800 222 6872

Wynton Kelly: Kelly Great

Album Notes

Personnel: Wynton Kelly (piano); Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone); Lee Morgan (trumpet); Paul Chambers (bass); Philly Joe Jones (drums).

Originally released on VeeJay (1016). Includes liner notes by Cannonball Adderley.

Digitally remastered by Little Walter DeVenne.

Pianist Wynton Kelly teams up with trumpeter Lee Morgan, tenor saxophonist Wayne Shorter, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Philly Joe Jones for a fine, advanced hard bop date. There are four originals (all virtually forgotten decades later) by Kelly, Shorter and Morgan but it is the lone standard, a playful version of "June Night" (which has some puckish Morgan trumpet), that is the standout. At 35 minutes, this CD reissue of a former LP is pretty brief, but what is here on the formerly rare session should satisfy collectors of the style. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product