1 800 222 6872

Various Artists: Masterpieces of Modern Soul, Vol. 4

Track List

>Just Lovin' You (Rap Intro) - Garland Green/The Street People
>No Limit - Darrow Fletcher/George Jackson
>It Takes Heart - Gregory Perry/Obrey Wilson
>If There Were No You - Natural Resources/The Dramatics
>Don't Send Nobody Else - Luv Co/Billy Cee & Freedom Express (previously unreleased)
>Baby, You Got It All - Luv Co/The Street People (mono)
>There Will Never Be Another You - Herman Davis/Chocolate Fudge/Jesse Johnson (previously unreleased)
>Don't Matter to Me - Billy Cee & Freedom Express/Cesar (previously unreleased, mono)
>Gotta Be Loved - Herman Davis/Toussaint McCall (mono)
>Tears Begin to Fall - Elaine Armstrong/Viola Wills (previously unreleased, mono)
>I'll Laugh Till I Cry - Alvin Robinson/Toussaint McCall (previously unreleased)
>Daddy Please Stay Home - Natural Resources/Obrey Wilson (previously unreleased)
>Never Felt This Way Before - Greg Perry/The New Experience (previously unreleased)
>You're My Little Girl [Edited Version] - The Ovations/Pretenders (previously unreleased, featuring Louis Williams)
>It's Everything About You (That I Love) - The Pretenders/Gail Anderson - (featuring Joe Evans)
>We Communicate - Garland Green/Gail Anderson
>I've Got News for You - George Soulé/Viola Wills (mono)
>Don't Lose What You Got (Trying to Get Back Whay You Had) - The New Experience/The Dramatics (previously unreleased, mono)
>See Saw Affair - Elayne Starr/Cesar
>Night After Night - Darrow Fletcher/Elayne Starr (previously unreleased)
>Midnight Affair - George Soulé/The Ovations (mono)
>I've Never Been in Love Before - Elaine Armstrong/Alvin Robinson
>You Amaze Me - Jesse Johnson/Fox Fire (previously unreleased, featuring Johnny Adams)
>You Amaze Me - Fox Fire

Album Notes

Liner Note Author: Ady Croasdell.

Illustrators: Dean Rudland; Ady Croasdell; Seam Hampsey; Mal Collins; Tony Rounce.

Ace's fourth volume of selections from the Kent label is, by definition, heavy on rarities. "Modern Soul" refers not to a label but rather an offshoot of Northern Soul, one that focuses on smooth soul and flirts with both the birth and aftermath of disco. Hence, the music on this 23-track collection is not well-known, not by a long shot. There are a few names familiar to soul collectors -- Toussaint McCall and the Pretenders might ring bells for some listeners -- but this is all rare, with eight of the cuts seeing their first-ever release on this 2015 set. Sumptuous sounds and deep, mellow grooves are the attraction here, but that doesn't mean there aren't songs that stick, or powerful performers, either. The writing and performing are the work of solid journeymen (and women), the kind who could show up and meet the requirements of the job. Ultimately, this means there are no knockouts here, but there are plenty of satisfying slices of smooth, deep soul that exist on the edges of Philly Soul and Quiet Storm -- good mood music for lazy, romantic evenings. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review