1 800 222 6872

Marshall Crenshaw: #392: The EP Collection [Slipcase] *

Track List

>Grab the Next Train
>Move Now
>Red Wine
>Driving and Dreaming
>Stranger and Stranger
>I Don t See You Laughing Now
>No Time
>(They Long to Be) Close to You
>Never to Be Forgotten
>Right Here Now
>Didn't Want to Have to Do It
>Made My Bed, Gonna Lie in It
>Man with Money
>Front Page News [Demo Version]

Album Notes

Liner Note Author: Marshall Crenshaw.

Recording information: 05/15/2012.

Photographers: Bill Ellison; Todd Gay; Eric Drumwright; Daniel Burke .

Marshall Crenshaw decided to embrace the ever-shifting pop landscape of the new millennium by instituting a Kickstarter-fueled subscription series, wherein over the course of two years he would give subscribers a 10" EP (accompanied by a card for a high-quality digital download) consisting of a new song, a cover, and a re-recording of one of his old songs every few months. #392: The EP Collection compiles all the newly written songs from these EPs along with his covers of other artists (left behind are the re-recordings of his catalog). Sequenced so the originals arrive first (albeit in reverse chronological order) and the covers second (this time presented in order of their release), #392: The EP Collection holds together well as an album because all the music flows from the same source: well-crafted pop where his mature craft finds an effective counterpoint in his inspirations. If nothing here is especially lively -- Bobby Fuller's galloping "Never to Be Forgotten" and the Easybeats' "Made My Bed, Gonna Lie in It" come the closest -- there's nevertheless appeal in the warm, intimate surroundings Crenshaw conjures. It's casual but also assured, tuneful without being forceful, a nice reflection of Crenshaw's confidence as a craftsman. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review