1 800 222 6872

Bill Dixon: Thoughts

Album Notes

Personnel: Bill Dixon (piano, trumpet, flugelhorn), Marco Eneldi (alto saxophone), John Buckingham (tuba), Peter Kowald, William Parker, Mario Pavone (acoustic bass), Lawrence Cook (drums).

Recorded at Paul Robeson House, Bennington, Vermont on May 16, 1985.

All songs written by Bill Dixon.

The unusual trumpeter Bill Dixon (who often emphasizes silence over sound and feelings over phrases) has always had a strong liking for lower-toned instruments. On this set, Dixon (doubling on piano) is joined by altoist Marco Eneidi, John Buckingham on tuba, drummer Lawrence Cook and three bassists (Peter Kowald, William Parker and Mario Pavone). The music (six originals, including the four-part suite "For Nelson and Winnie") is quite adventurous, yet thoughtful, disturbing without being forbidding. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product