1 800 222 6872

McCoy Tyner: La Leyenda de La Hora

Album Notes

Personnel: McCoy Tyner (piano); William Fischer (conductor); Paquito D'Rivera (soprano & alto saxophones); Chico Freeman (tenor saxophone); Marcus Belgrave (trumpet, flugelhorn); Hubert Laws (flute); Harold Kohan, John Blake, Karen Milne, Elliot Rosoff (violin); Jesse Levine, Julien Barber (viola); Kermit Moore, Jonathan Abramowitz (cello); Bobby Hutcherson (vibraphone, marimba); Avery Sharpe (acoustic bass); Ignacio Berroa (drums); Daniel Ponce (percussion).

Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey in 1981.

There are no weak McCoy Tyner albums and this relative obscurity is better than average. The great pianist is heard with an all-star nonet that includes Hubert Laws on flute, vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson, altoist Paquito d'Rivera, Chico Freeman on tenor, and trumpeter Marcus Belgrave, plus a seven-piece string section. The music (five Tyner originals) is highly rhythmic and generally quite stimulating. A strong effort. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product