1 800 222 6872

Augustus Pablo: Augustus Pablo Presents Rockers International

Track List

>Rockers Chapter 1, El
>Rockers Chapter 3, El
>Three Men in a Truck Back
>Free Jah Jah Children
>Cool Melody
>Rastaman, The
>Peaceful Man Dub
>Protect Them
>Give a Little Bit
>People of This World, The
>Rockers Chapter 2, El
>Rockers Chapter 4, El
>Away with You Fussing and Fighting
>Selassie I Veranda
>King David's Melody
>Solomon Dub
>False Rasta
>555 Crown Street
>1 Rutland Close
>Black Force
>Cassava Piece
>Straight a Yard
>Each One Teach One
>Zion a Fe Lion
>Zambian File
>Changing World
>Changing World Version

Album Notes

Liner Note Authors: Harry Wise; Paul Coote.

Recording information: Channel One; Dynamic Sounds; Harry J's; Randy's.

Arranger: Augustus Pablo.

Originally released in two volumes by U.K. label Greensleeves, Rockers International is a hefty 28-track reissue of productions by dub legend Augustus Pablo. This is essential dub by artists like Delroy Williams, Earl Sixteen, Norris Reid, Junior Delgado, and Pablo himself. Standouts on disc one include all four chapters of Pablo's sprawling "El Rockers" 12" and Delroy Williams' "Three Men in a Truck Back" and its B-side, Jah Bull's "Free Jah Jah Children." Earl Sixteen's jittery "The Rastaman" is the spiritual center, creating an uplifting urgency with calls to empowerment and unity. Disc two includes tracks from the follow-up, Rockers International, Vol. 2. Highlights include the passionate plea of Junior Delgado's "Away with You Fussing and Fighting" and its B-side, Pablo's instrumental take "King David's Melody." This collection is a stellar primer on dub and Augustus Pablo, a pioneer of the movement. ~ Neil Z. Yeung


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review