1 800 222 6872

Henning Kraggerud (b.1973) & Jostein Gaarder: Equinox / Arctic Philharmonic, Kraggerud

Album Summary

>Kraggerud, Henning : Equinox, 24 Postludes in all keys, for violin & chamber orchestra
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Alongside a distinguished career as a soloist with some of the world's greatest orchestras, Norwegian star violinist Henning Kraggerud is also a composer. On this new release he combines these two roles in a collaboration with Jostein Gaarder, author of 'Sophie's World'. The Brodsky Quartet and Britten Sinfonia are among the various ensembles that have recently commissioned and performed works by Henning Kraggerud. With Equinox, Kraggerud has written four violin concertos, 24 postludes for violin and chamber orchestra, and music for a stage production - all in one work! Following in the footsteps of great masters of the violin, such as Fritz Kreisler and Eugène Ysaÿe, Henning Kraggerud's approach enables the performative and creative processes to develop hand in hand. In Equinox, Kraggerud has written beautiful, mournful, bubbly and heartbreaking music, organized into four violin concertos entitled Afternoon, Evening, Night and Morning. Kraggerud performs regularly with eminent conductors such as Denève, Saraste, Dausgaard, Vänskä, McCreesh, and McGegan, to name a few. A dedicated chamber musician, he performs frequently on both violin and viola in venues such as London's Wigmore Hall, appearing alongside artists including Imogen Cooper, Adrian Brendel, Steven Isserlis, Joshua Bell, Martha Argerich, Leif Ove Andsnes, and Piotr Anderszewski. Kraggerud plays a 1744 Guerneri del Gesù, provided by Dextra Musica.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Gronnåsen Kirke, Tromso, Norway (06/02/2014-06/06/2014).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Kraggerud, Henning : Equinox, 24 Postludes in all keys, for violin & chamber orchestra
  • Performer: Henning Kraggerud [Composer/Violin] (Violin)
  • Conductor: Henning Kraggerud
  • Ensemble: Arctic Philharmonic
  • Notes: Gronnåsen Kirke, Tromso, Norway (06/02/2014-06/06/2014)
  • Running Time: 67 min. 38 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary