1 800 222 6872

Giuseppe Verdi: Ernani / Mario Del Monaco, Cornell MacNeil, Floriana Cavalli, Rome Opera, Santini (rec. 1961)

Audio Samples

  1. Verdi — Ernani: Introduction (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Verdi — Ernani, Act I: Evviva! Biviam! (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Verdi — Ernani, Act I: Mercè, diletti amici (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Verdi — Ernani, Act I: Come rugiada al cespite (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Verdi — Ernani, Act I: Si rapisca (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Verdi — Ernani, Act I: Surta è la notte, e Silva non ritorna! (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Verdi — Ernani, Act I: Ernani! Ernani, involami (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Verdi — Ernani, Act I: Fa che a me venga? E tosto (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  9. Verdi — Ernani, Act I: Sire! Fia ver? Voi stesso! (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Verdi — Ernani, Act I: Infelice! E tuo credevi (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Verdi — Ernani, Act I: Vedi come il buon vegliardo (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  12. Verdi — Ernani, Act I: Mio signor, dolente io sono (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Verdi — Ernani, Act II: Esultiamo! Letizia ne inondi (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Verdi — Ernani, Act II: Jago, qui tosto il pellegrin adduci (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Verdi — Ernani, Act II: Tu, perfida… Come fissarmi ardisci? (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  16. Verdi — Ernani, Act II: Ah, morir potessi adesso! (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  17. Verdi — Ernani, Act II: Scellerati, il mio furore (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Verdi — Ernani, Act II: Cugino, a che munito (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  19. Verdi — Ernani, Act II: Lo vedremo, veglio audace (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  20. Verdi — Ernani, Act II: Fu esplorata del castello (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  21. Verdi — Ernani, Act II: Vieni meco, sol di rose (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  22. Verdi — Ernani, Act II: Vigili pure il ciel sempre su te (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  23. Verdi — Ernani, Act II: Salvi ne vedi, e liberi (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  24. Verdi — Ernani, Act III: Introduction (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  25. Verdi — Ernani, Act III: È questo il loco? (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  26. Verdi — Ernani, Act III: Grand Dio! Costor sui sepolcrali marmi (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  27. Verdi — Ernani, Act III: Ad augusta! (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  28. Verdi — Ernani, Act III: Si ridesti il Leon di Castiglia (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  29. Verdi — Ernani, Act III: Qual rumore? Che sarà (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  30. Verdi — Ernani, Act III: Io son conte, duca sono (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  31. Verdi — Ernani, Act III: Oh sommo Carlo, più del tuo nome (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  32. Verdi — Ernani, Act IV: Oh come felici (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  33. Verdi — Ernani, Act IV: Cessaro i suoni (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  34. Verdi — Ernani, Act IV: Solingo, errante e misero (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  35. Verdi — Ernani, Act IV: Ferma, crudele, estinguere (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  36. Verdi — Ernani, Act IV: Se uno squillo intenderà (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  37. Verdi — Interviews with del Moncao, Cavalli, Santini, Rossi-Lemeni, Rinaudo, MacNeil & Cesarini
  38. Verdi — Otello, Act I: Esultate! $0.99 on iTunes

Album Summary

>Verdi, Giuseppe : Ernani
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Despite a plethora of recordings of Verdi's Ernani currently in active catalog status from Myto starring the very great Italian tenor Mario del Monaco, after listening to the tapes of this 1961 Rome Ernani they determined one additional Ernani must nevertheless be added to the burgeoning pile. Cornell MacNeil is in excellent voice, as is soprano Floriana Cavalli as Elvira, the determining factor in bringing this release to market as she was not often recorded. It's a thrilling performance, and the first release in any format. Includes interviews of the singers during pauses in the action!

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Teatro dell'Opera di Roma, Roma (12/06/1961).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Verdi, Giuseppe : Ernani
  • Performers: Renato Capecchi (Baritone); Mario Carlin (Tenor); Dario Caselli (Bass); Floriana Cavalli (Soprano); Athos Cesarini (Tenor); Mario Del Monaco (Tenor); Anna di Stasio (Mezzo Soprano); Onelia Fineschi (Soprano); Cornell MacNeil (Baritone); Leonardo Monreale (Bass); Vittorio Pandano (Tenor); Mario Rinaudo (Bass); Bruna Ronchini (Mezzo Soprano); Nicola Rossi-Lemeni (Bass)
  • Conductor: Gabriele Santini
  • Ensemble: Rome Opera Chorus
  • Running Time: 61 min. 25 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1844