1 800 222 6872

The One Truth Band/John McLaughlin: Electric Dreams

Album Reviews:

Q (11/94, p.146) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...one his better post-Mahavishnu outings, with a strong set of compostions and a couple of choice guest appearances, notably David Sanborn on `The Unknown Dissident'..."

Album Notes

John McLaughlin/One Truth Band: John McLaughlin (guitar, banjo); Fernando Sanders (vocals, bass); Tony Smith (vocals, drums); David Sanborn (alto saxophone); L. Shankar (violin); Stu Goldberg (piano, organ, sythesizer); Alyiro Lima (percussion).

Recorded at Sound Mixer Studio, New York, New York in November and December 1978. Includes liner notes by Kevin Whitehead.

Long before he turned eastwards for inspiration, John McLaughlin was enamored with the blues. This 1978 release blends McLaughlin's earliest blues influences with an eclectic sense of composition and form. Even though a plethora of widely differing instruments is heard throughout, the result is a musical statement that is wholly organic and natural.

"Desire and the Comforter" lays down a funky groove, as the master guitarist and the violinist L. Shankar trade snaky, melodic lines somewhere between the blues and Indian music. "The Dark Prince" shows off McLaughlin's jazzier side, as he blazes through a series of harmonic changes that hint at John Coltrane's "Giant Steps."


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review