1 800 222 6872

James Cotton (Harmonica): Mighty Long Time

Track List

>Straighten Up Baby
>Everything Gonna Be Alright
>Black Nights
>Blow Wind Blow
>Sugar Sweet
>Moanin' at Midnight
>Baby Please
>Hold Me in Your Arms
>Stormy Monday
>Three Hundred Pounds of Joy
>Northside Cadillac
>Mighty Long Time
>Every Night and Every Day
>Cotton Crop Blues
>Got My Nose Open
>Too Many Drivers

Album Notes

Personnel: James Cotton (vocals, harmonica); Jimmie Vaughan, Derek O'Brien, Matt Murphy, Luther Tucker, Hubert Sumlin, Wayne Bennett (guitar); Red Rails, Mark Kazanoff (tenor saxophone); Choo Bari (baritone saxophone); Mike Kindred, Denny Freeman, Pinetop Perkins, Mel Brown, Reese Wynans (piano); Sarah Brown, Calvin Jones, Larry Eisenberg (bass); George Rains, Willie Smith (drums).

Engineers: Stuart Sullivan, James Tuttle, Joe Gracy.

Recorded at Arlyn Studio, Studio D & Lonestar Studio, Austin, Texas. Includes liner notes by Clifford Antone.

Audio Remasterer: Jim Wilson .

Liner Note Author: Clifford Antone.

Recording information: Arlyn Studio; Lonestar Sound; Studio D.

Photographer: Susan Antone.

This is a sort of back-to-the-roots release from the veteran blues harp wizard. Two of the songs, "Hold Me in Your Arms," which has a "Mystery Train" feel, and "Straighten Up Baby," one of several cuts here featuring guitarist Jimmy Vaughan, were originally recorded by James Cotton in the early '50s at Sun Records.

There are also two drummerless numbers featuring legendary Howlin' Wolf guitarist Hubert Sumlin; the reading here of Sunny Boy Williamson's "Moanin' at Midnight" is particularly spooky and atmospheric. Other highlights include a nicely minimalist version of Bobby Bland's "Call it Stormy Monday," and the Little Walter-ish instrumental "Northside Cadillac," where Cotton trades jazzy licks with Matt "Guitar" Murphy.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review