1 800 222 6872

Simple Minds: Once upon a Time [Deluxe Edition]

Album Reviews:

CMJ (1/5/04, p.18) - Ranked #8 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1986"

Album Notes

Simple Minds: Mel Gaynor (vocals, drums); Jim Kerr (vocals); Charlie Burchill (guitar); Michael MacNeil (piano, keyboards); John Giblin (bass).

Additional personnel includes: Robin Clark (vocals).

Recorded at Right Track Studios, New York and Bearsville Studios, Bearsville, New York.

Simple Minds gained belated US chart success with "(Don't You) Forget About Me" and a distinctly transatlantic burr covered this, the ensuing album. Producers Jimmy Iovine and Bob Clearmountain sculpted an unambiguous sound where crowd-pleasing anthems invoked a genuine excitement. Loud, forthright and shorn of subtlety, ONCE UPON A TIME shows the group's core trio - Jim Kerr (vocals), Charlie Burchill (guitar) and Mick McNeil (keyboards) - working together with genuine empathy, while a revamped rhythm section underpins the material with sinewy precision. They combine to create what many consider to be Simple Minds' most exciting and exhilarating release.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review