1 800 222 6872

Vivaldi: 12 Concertos, Op. 7 for solo violin or oboe / Federico Guglielmo, violin; Pier Luigi Fabretti, oboe. L'Arte dell'Arco

Album Summary

>Vivaldi, Antonio : Concerti a 5 stromenti, concertos (12) for 3 violins, viola & continuo in 2 books (includes several
Performer Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

After the successful publication of Vivaldi's earlier collections," La Stravaganza" and "L'Estro Armonico," his publisher, Estienne Roger, was eager to capitalise on Vivaldi's rising popularity and published this, Vivaldi's Op. 7 in 1720, a collection of twelve new concertos, ten for violin and two for oboe. However, recent research has cast considerable doubt on this collection's authorship, and certain doubt on the oboe concrtos, showing that many of the hallmarks of Vivaldi's work are absent in these works, and it is likely that Vivaldi neither authorized not approved of the publication. Whether these works were penned by Vivaldi himself or merely exist as a worthy tribute to his work, they are realized expertly in this lively performance by Federico Guglielmo and his ensemble, L'Arte dell'Arco. Guglielmo has been an active performer in the early music circle for many years, having performed with such groups as the Academy of Ancient Music and the Handel & Haydn Society of Boston, and he is joined on this recording by the oboist Pier Luigi Fabretti, who has previously performed with Concerto Köln and I Barocchisti, among others.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Abbazia di Carceri d'Este, Padua, Italy (05/19/2014/07/23/2014); Abbazia di Carceri d'Este, Padua, Italy (07/19/2014/07/24/2014).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Vivaldi, Antonio : Concerti a 5 stromenti, concertos (12) for 3 violins, viola & continuo in 2 books (includes several
  • Performer: Federico Guglielmo (Violin)
  • Conductor: Federico Guglielmo
  • Ensemble: L'Arte dell'Arco
  • Running Time: 4 min. 27 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1720