1 800 222 6872

Joe Cocker: Fire It Up

Track List

>Fire It Up
>I'll Be Your Doctor
>You Love Me Back
>I Come in Peace
>You Don't Need a Million Dollars
>Eye on the Prize
>You Don't Know What You're Doing to Me
>Letting Go
>I'll Walk in the Sunshine Again
>Weight of the World
>Last Road
>Walk Through the World With Me
>Let Love Decide

Album Notes

Personnel: Alex Arias (programming).

Audio Mixer: Chris Lord-Alge.

Recording information: Emblem Studios, Calabasas, California.

Photographers: Jeri Heiden; Cole Walliser; Ryan Corey; Albert Mendonca.

Teaming up once again with producer Matt Serletic, the Matchbox 20 and Collective Soul producer who helmed the 2010 album Hard Knocks, Joe Cocker winds up branching out in slightly different directions on 2012's Fire It Up. Where Hard Knocks wound up as a clean, polished, blue-eyed soul album, Fire It Up sounds closer to Serletic's work with Matchbox 20 -- an adult pop album where the R&B is buried beneath gleaming, pulsating rock. Cocker has often mined this crossover vein and he's done so with engaging results going as far back as 1989's "When the Night Comes," and he sounds appealing enough here, particularly on the sprightlier numbers. When things start to slow down, Cocker sounds a little more vulnerable, a little older, and while there's charm to that raggedness, Serletic's production is too precise to be a good match. Nevertheless, this is an assured, professionally crafted piece of contemporary adult pop. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review