1 800 222 6872

Mitch Ryder & the Detroit Wheels: Breakout...!!!

Album Notes

Mitch Ryder And The Detroit Wheels: Mitch Ryder (vocals), James McCarty, Joe Kubert (guitars), Earl Elliot (bass), Johnny Bee (drums).

Additional personnel: Barry Goldberg (keyboards).

Reissue producer: Bob Irwin.

Originally released on New Voice (2002), except for "Any Day Now," which was available only on the first pressings of BREAKOUT!!!

Includes liner notes by Connie De Nave.

Having hit the charts with the rocket-fueled R&B punch of their debut, TAKE A RIDE, Mitch Ryder and the Detroit Wheels continued their assault on the pop charts with the equally hard-hitting BREAKOUT!!!. Already renowned for their rowdy soul covers, here Ryder and company turn their attention south of the Mason-Dixon Line for material to remake. The results continue to impress, be they a harmony-soaked version of Wilson Pickett's "In the Midnight Hour," a raucous reading of Rufus Thomas's "Walking the Dog," or an infectious run through the Isley Brothers' "Shakin' With Linda."

As brilliant as he was shredding his vocal chords on such high-octane numbers, Ryder was equally gifted when it came time to croon his way through songs. A sweet sounding, mid-tempo cover of Marvin Gaye's "Stubborn Kind Of Fellow" is only slightly surpassed by a rich interpretation of the Burt Bacharach classic "Any Day Now." Of course, this Motor City quintet's forte remains depth charges like Bill Medley's "Little Latin Lupe Lu," and the pounding medley of Shorty Long's "Devil With a Blue Dress On" and Little Richard's "Good Golly Miss Molly" that was to become a Bruce Springsteen concert staple almost two decades later.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review