1 800 222 6872

Tony Bennett (Vocals): The Beat of My Heart

Album Notes

THE BEAT OF MY HEART contains six previously unreleased bonus tracks and was remastered in full stereo.

Personnel: Tony Bennett (vocals); Ralph Sharon (conductor, piano); John Pisano (guitar); Herbie Mann, Roberts Jasper, William Slapin, Vincent Vittorio, Spencer Sinatra (flute); Al Cohn (tenor saxophone); Nat Adderley (trumpet); Kai Winding, James Dahl, Robert Alexander, Ziskind Lieb (trombone); Eddie Costa (vibraphone); Milt Hinton, James Bond, Eddie Safranski (bass); Jo Jones, Chico Hamilton, Sabu, Billy Exiner, Candido, Art Blakey (drums).

Producer: Mitch Miller, Al Ham.

Reissue producer: Didier C. Deutsch.

Engineers include: Harold Chapman, Robert Waller.

Includes liner notes by Ralph Sharon.

After a half-decade of Coumbia producer Mitch Miller's increasingly restrictive regime, Tony Bennett proposed this 1957 "concept" album featuring a cadre of celebrated drummers and percussionists such as Jo Jones, Art Blakey, Chico Hamilton, Sabu and Candido. A risky proposition, but the gamble paid off in a superbly produced and Ralph Sharon-arranged introduction to Tony Bennett the musician. The star drummers don't actually perform together; each is prominently featured on a few selections, yet integrated into the mix so that the concept does not overwhelm the music.

Chico Hamilton's supple contributions on "Crazy Rhythm" and the title track are particular stand-outs. As for Bennett, the feeling of liberation is palpable as he makes the most of this opportunity to record previously forbidden standards and rare gems such as the alluring "Lazy Afternoon" and Alec Wilder's "It's So Peaceful In the Country," which appears as a bonus track here. THE BEAT OF MY HEART is the earliest of the hand-picked Tony Bennett Master Series reissues.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product