1 800 222 6872

J.S. Bach: Goldberg Variations BWV 988 / Bassoon Consort Frankfurt

Album Summary

>Bach, Johann Sebastian : Goldberg Variations, for keyboard (Clavier-Übung IV), BWV 988 (BC L9)
Performers Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The Frankfurt Bassoon Consort is formed by eight bassoons and a contrabassoon. Its guiding spirit Henrik Rabien has arranged Bach's Goldberg Variations for this unusual ensemble - a daring feat whose success has been undisputed ever since the acclaimed premiere in May 2013. Rabien's arrangement goes far beyond pure instrumental navel-gazing: the nine instrumentalists produce tonal refinement most excellently harmonizing with Bach's virtuosic play between linear counterpoint and vertical harmony.

This finely balanced Super Audio CD offers genuine 3-D listening pleasure in HD quality: natural tone colors and fantastic transparency afford a profound glimpse of this unrivaled masterpiece.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Konzerthaus der Abtei Marienmünster (04/07/2015-04/09/2015).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Bach, Johann Sebastian : Goldberg Variations, for keyboard (Clavier-Übung IV), BWV 988 (BC L9)
  • Performers: Stephan Krings (Contrabassoon); Kathrin Mayer (Bassoon); Lena Nagai (Bassoon); Henrik Rabien (Bassoon); Charlotte Sutthoff (Bassoon)
  • Ensemble: Bassoon Consort Frankfurt
  • Notes: Konzerthaus der Abtei Marienmünster (04/07/2015-04/09/2015)
  • Running Time: 71 min. 16 sec.
  • Period Time: Baroque
  • Written: 1741