1 800 222 6872

Jansen/Barbieri: Stone to Flesh [Digipak]

Track List

>Mother London
>Sleepers Awake
>Ringing the Bell Backwards: Siren, Pt. 1/Drift, Pt. 2
>Swim There
>Closer Than 'I'
>Everything Ends in Darkness
>Map of Falling

Album Notes

Personnel: Jansen/Barbieri (keyboards, synthesizer, programming); Steve Jansen (vocals, electric guitar, keyboards, keyboard bass, drums, percussion, programming, sampler).

Audio Mixer: Steve Jansen .

Recording information: Studiofobia (1994/1995); The Artillery (1994/1995); The Nest (1994/1995); The Orange Asylum (1994/1995); Studiofobia (2015); The Artillery (2015); The Nest (2015); The Orange Asylum (2015).

Photographer: Carl Glover .

Hot off the heels of Rain Tree Crow's dissolution, multi-instrumentalists Jansen and Barbieri return with another intriguing project. STONE TO FLESH largely forsakes ambient lands for more edgy climes, often interspersing their long, exploratory passages with elongated guitar lines and exotic percussive accents.

"Mother London" and "Ringing the Bell Backwards" feature Jansen's clipped vocals, seriously reflective of brother (and former bandmate) David Sylvian, interspersed between fragile synth-warbles, illuminated electronics, and engaging rhythmic devices. "Everything Ends in Darkness" gives Barbieri room to stretch out on the keyboards. His agile synths explore forbidding landscapes while Jansen erects primitive tribal groove motifs.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product