1 800 222 6872

Bronius Kutavicius (b.1932): The Seasons, oratorio / Darius Meskauskas, reader (live, 2012)

Album Summary

>Kutavicius, Bronislovas : The Seasons, oratorio for narrator, chorus & orchestra
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Bronius Kutavicius' oratorio The Seasons (2005 - 8) sets texts from a classic Lithuanian poem by 18th c. pastor-poet Kristijonas Donelaitis describing the peasant's life of toil. The Seasons mixes musical modernism and folk-inspired primitivism in an astonishingly powerful portrayal of the interaction of human activity and natural forces. Born 1932, Mr. Kutavicius is Lithuania's senior composer and is regarded as a national treasure. This 2012 live recording documents the first complete performance, given in the composer's presence, as part of the celebrations marking his 80th birthday.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: St. Catherine's Church, Vilnius (09/13/2012).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Kutavicius, Bronislovas : The Seasons, oratorio for narrator, chorus & orchestra
  • Conductor: Donatas Katkus
  • Ensemble: Vilnius Municipal Choir Jauna Muzika
  • Running Time: 77 min. 18 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 2005-2008
  • Studio/Live: Live