1 800 222 6872

Bonnie Raitt: The Glow

Album Notes

Personnel: Bonnie Raitt (vocals, electric & National Steel slide guitars); Danny Kortchmar, Waddy Wachtel (electric guitar, background vocals); Paul Butterfield (harmonica); Trevor Lawrence, Larry Williams, David Sanborn (saxophone); Steve Madaio (trumpet); Bill Payne (acoustic & electric pianos, synthesizer); Don Grolnick (piano); Bob Magnusson, Freebo, Bob Glaub (bass); Rick Marotta (drums, percussion, cowbell); John Guerin (drums); Rosemary Butler, Kenny Edwards, Maxayn Lewis, John David Souther, Craig Fuller, Peter Asher (background vocals).

Recorded at the Sound Factory, Los Angeles, California from April 26 to July 12, 1979.

Digitally remastered by Patrick Kraus.

Following on the heels of her gold record SWEET FORGIVENESS (with its hit cover of Del Shannon's "Runaway"), THE GLOW finds Raitt paying homage to an interesting cross-section of R&B influences and contemporary songwriters. Songs by Sam & Dave ("Thank You") and Mable Johns ("Your Good Thing [Is About To End]") are as excellently executed as material by Jackson Browne ("Sleep's Dark And Silent Gate") and fellow female blues artist Tracy Nelson ("[I Could Have Been Your] Best Friend").

Heartbreak is a recurring theme on THE GLOW and Raitt uses a few different approaches to address this universal theme. A jazz trio that includes pianist Don Grolnick gives Raitt the chance to put down her guitar and be Billie Holiday for a bit. Elsewhere, Paul Butterfield's tasty harp playing makes Mary Wells' "Bye Bye Baby" a sassy kiss-off, and Raitt reworks the Bobby Troup classic to read as "The Boy Can't Help It," punctuated by a stutter-step tempo and a biting National steel slide guitar.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review