1 800 222 6872

Sun City Girls: Torch of the Mystics [Digipak]

Track List

>Blue Mamba
>Tarmac 23
>Esoterica of Abyssynia
>Space Prophet Dogon
>Shining Path, The
>Flower, The
>Cafe' Batik
>Radar 1941
>Papa Legba
>Vinegar Stroke, The
>Burial in the Sky

Album Reviews:

Pitchfork (Website) - "TORCH OF THE MYSTICS finds a point at which chaos and order meet to become a third path-one that, in this thrilling and still-vital incarnation, only Sun City Girls could discover."

Album Notes

Originally released on Majora Records. Includes liner notes by Charles Gocher.

Personnel: Alan Bishop (vocals, acoustic guitar, bass guitar, maracas, percussion, bells); Charles Gocher (vocals, horns, drum set, maracas, shaker, steel drum, timbales, triangle, gong, anklung, idiophones); Richard Bishop (chant, guitar, electric guitar, lute, melodica, oboe, harpsichord, rainsticks).

Audio Remasterer: Mark Gergis.

Recording information: Cloaven Studios, Tempe Arizona (07/1988).

Widely considered the experimental Arizona trio's career high point, mixing guitar explorations and world influences.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review