1 800 222 6872

The Brian Jonestown Massacre: Mini Album Thingy Wingy [EP]

Track List

>Prsí Prsí
>Get Some
>Leave It Alone
>Mandrake Handshake
>Here Comes the Waiting for the Sun

Album Reviews:

NME (Magazine) - "[T]here's always been a knowing playfulness to the group's `60s references. It's furthered here by the Beatles meets Doors mash up in the title of final track `Here Comes The Waiting For The Sun'."

Album Notes

Audio Mixer: Fabien Leseure.

With 2015's Musique de Film Imaginé, Anton Newcombe's long-running outfit, the Brian Jonestown Massacre, took an unusual detour, delivering a cerebral set of imaginary soundtrack cues that paid homage to vintage French cinema. A mere six months later, they came back with the casually named, but no less robust Mini Album Thingy Wingy. Returning to more song-based material, the seven-track collection was made in Newcombe's adopted home of Berlin and features plenty of sleekly crafted psych-pop that nods to the band's San Francisco roots while continuing to nurture their European influences. In typically eclectic BJM fashion, the collaborations here range from a Slovakian-language track from guest singer Vladimir Nosal ("Prsí Prsí") to a 13th Floor Elevators cover ("Dust") that features Alex Maas from Austin-based psych band the Black Angels on a tricked-out jug track. ~ Timothy Monger


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review