1 800 222 6872

Joseph Haydn: The Creation / Christina Landshamer, Maximilian Schmitt, Rudolf Rosen. Philippe Herreweghe

Album Summary

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : Die Schöpfung (The Creation), oratorio, H. 21/2
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Inspired by his discovery of Handel's Messiah, Joseph Haydn spent two years composing his oratorio Die Schöpfung (The Creation). The revered conductor, Philippe Herreweghe continues his exploration of Haydn's vocal works with the Collegium Vocale Gent and Orchestre des Champs-Élysées investing the oratorio with an abundance of tone and color that makes this enduring masterpiece a transporting experience. Featuring the soloists Christina Landshamer, Maximilian Schmitt and Rudolf Rosen.

American Record Guide, May/June 2016
Each soloist is wonderful. I think he fits the music nicely. The tenor croons elegantly, and the soprano sounds as fragrant as the flowers, buds, boughs, and groves she's singing about. They're as good or better than any other Creation trio I've heard. The choir is half a notch down from everyone else on the expressivity scale. In our musical cosmology, then, Karajan is still the biggest of the Big Bangs.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Studio 4, Flagey Hall, Brussels, Belgium (03/24/2014-03/26/2014).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Haydn, Franz Joseph : Die Schöpfung (The Creation), oratorio, H. 21/2
  • Conductor: Philippe Herreweghe
  • Ensemble: Collegium Vocale Gent
  • Notes: Studio 4, Flagey Hall, Brussels, Belgium (03/24/2014-03/26/2014)
  • Running Time: 90 min. 18 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Cantata/Oratorio
  • Written: 1798