1 800 222 6872

Hank Crawford: True Blue

Track List

>Shake A-Plenty
>Mellow Down
>Read 'Em and Weep
>Merry Christmas Baby
>Save Your Love for Me
>Skunky Green
>Two Years of Torture
>Blues in Bloom
>Got You on My Mind

Album Notes

This lesser-known Hank Crawford set has plenty of enjoyable numbers that fit into the R&Bish soul/jazz idiom. Crawford, who plays piano on two of the ten songs but otherwise sticks to his distinctive alto, is the main soloist other than three short spots for either John Hunt or Phil Guilbeau on trumpet. Most of the selections on this out-of-print LP are quite catchy with the highlights including "Shake A-Plenty," a passionate "Merry Christmas Baby," "Save Your Love for Me" and "Two Years of Torture." ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review