1 800 222 6872

Halo of Flies: Music for Insect Minds

Track List

>Rubber Room
>Thoughts in a Booth
>D.O.T. Fin 13
>Can't Touch Her
>M.D. 20/20
>Sinner Sings
>Richies Dog
>How Does It Feel to Feel
>Ballad of Extreme Hate
>No Time
>You Get Nothing
>Drunk (In Detroit)
>Garbage Rock
>D.O.T. Beat 69
>One Barrel Spent
>I'm Clean
>Easy or Hard
>Father Paranoia
>Death of a Fly
>Ain't No Hell
>Spit It Out
>Human Fly
>I'm a Bug
>Jagged Time Lapse
>Tired & Cold
>Wasted Time

Album Reviews:

Alternative Press (7/95, pp.102-104) - Ranked #87 in AP's list of the `Top 99 of '85-'95' - "...this collection is easily one of the best documents celebrating a pinnacle of the American indie underground..."

Album Notes

Personnel: Tom Hazelmyer (vocals, guitar); Tim "Mac" McLaughlin (vocals); John Anglim (drums).

Recording information: C.B.G.B.'s.

Mostly collected from singles and compilations, Music for Insect Minds documents a raging, powerful band at the peak of its career. Titles like "Ballad of Extreme Hate" give an idea of where this Minneapolis trio is coming from. This is angry music made by angry people, even a catchy rock song like "Tired & Cold" bubbles over with songwriter Tom Hazelmyer's contempt for humanity. For the most part, this is an engaging exercise in hardcore, much different from Minnesota contemporaries like Soul Asylum and the Jayhawks. At times it may get repetitive, but Halo of Flies have enough sense to mix up the punk with some slower, edgier dirges to keep the mix from getting stale. ~ Bradley Torreano


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review