1 800 222 6872

Cy Walter: Sublimities: Centennial Tribute, Vol. 1 *

Audio Samples

  1. Sublimities — All the Things You Are $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Sublimities — Begin the Beguine $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Sublimities — Body and Soul $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Sublimities — Dancing In the Dark $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Sublimities — Music for Twilight $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Sublimities — Lover $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Sublimities — The Way You Look Tonight $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Sublimities — Crazy Rhythm $0.99 on iTunes
  9. Sublimities — Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Sublimities — I Married an Angel Medley $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Sublimities — The Song Is You $0.99 on iTunes
  12. Sublimities — Warsaw Concerto $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Sublimities — Radio Introduction to "Tea for Two" (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Sublimities — Tea for Two (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Sublimities — Radio Introduction to "Through the Years" (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  16. Sublimities — Through the Years (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  17. Sublimities — Radio Introduction to "Liza" (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Sublimities — Liza (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  19. Sublimities — Radio Introduction to "Bess, You Is My Woman Now" (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  20. Sublimities — Bess, You Is My Woman Now (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  21. Sublimities — Radio Introduction to "Falling In Love With Love" (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  22. Sublimities — Falling In Love With Love (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  23. Sublimities — Radio Introduction to "Rhapsody On a Theme of Paganini, Op. 43" (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  24. Sublimities — Rhapsody On a Theme of Paganini, Op. 43 (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  25. Sublimities — Radio Introduction to "Stardust" (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  26. Sublimities — Stardust (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  27. Sublimities — Radio Introduction to "Laura" (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  28. Sublimities — Laura (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  29. Sublimities — Radio Introduction to "March of the Siamese Children" (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  30. Sublimities — March of the Siamese Children (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  31. Sublimities — Radio Introduction to "Mrs. Malaprop" (Live) $0.99 on iTunes
  32. Sublimities — Mrs. Malaprop (Live) $0.99 on iTunes

Track List

>All the Things You Are
>Begin the Beguine
>Body and Soul
>Dancing in the Dark
>I Got Plenty O' Nuttin'
>I'll Be Around
>Music for Twilight
>Way You Look Tonight
>Crazy Rhythm
>Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
>I Married an Angel Medley
>Song Is You, The
>Warsaw Concerto
>Intro to "Tea for Two"
>Tea for Two
>Intro to "Through the Years"
>Through the Years
>Intro to "Liza"
>Intro to "Bess, You Is My Woman Now"
>Bess, You Is My Woman Now
>Intro to "Falling in Love With Love"
>Falling in Love With Love
>Intro to "It's Only a Paper Moon"
>It's Only a Paper Moon
>Intro to "Rachmaninoff Variations'
>Rhapsody and Variations on the Theme From Paganini
>Intro to "It's April Again"
>It's April Again
>Intro to "Star Dust"
>Star Dust
>Intro to "Laura"
>Intro to "March of the Siamese Children"
>March of the Siamese Children
>Intro to "Mrs. Malaprop"
>Mrs. Malaprop

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

On the eve of his centenary, the pianist/composer Cy Walter is commemorated with the 2 CD retrospective collection 'Sublimities' that honors his remarkable career and talents. Volume 1 focuses on rare recordings, radio appearances and solo performances remastered from original '78s of this dean of cocktail piano players. Considered one of the premier interpreters of the Great American Songbook, Walter considered himself a "stylist of show tunes" and the first volume presents a rare ringside seat to the many classic performances of Walters' early career. Bringing deserved attention to Walters' near 40 year career, the collection includes a 24 page booklet with essays by contemporary pianists and music historians including Michael Feinstein, Peter Mintun, Maggie Perrin, Richard Behrens, and more.

Album Notes

Liner Note Authors: Denny Zeitlin; Chilton Ryan; Margaret Perrin; Stanley Turkel; Ruth McGirl; Peter Mintun.

Photographers: Cy Walter; Fritz Henle.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review