1 800 222 6872

Ukranian Moods: Piano Miniatures by Revuzkij, Kosenko, Kolessa & Schamo / Violian Petrychenko, piano

Notes & Reviews:

Violina Petrychenko decided to put together a program that would combine the musical traditions of Western Europe and Ukraine. The first part presents two composers, whose work is rooted in the classical traditions: Levko Revutsky and Viktor Kosenko. The remaining three, Kolessa as well as Igor and Juri Shamo, strove to draw on a greater number of folkloristic motifs. It was the piece Carpathian Fantasy by Juri Schamo, which gave her the idea to this program, because the work itself stands for the combination of musical traditions.

American Record Guide, May/June 2016
A collection of melancholy miniatures in the Russian late romantic style; most of it sounds closer to early Scriabin than anyone else. The first two of Levko Revutsky's Three Preludes (1914) are short and satisfying. The Two Etudes, Op. 8, and Three Pieces, Op. 9, are better. The last of the latter set, a mazurka, has some attractive twists and turns. Mykola Kolessa's Hutsulian Scenes are folk influenced, reminiscent of Bartok; they have rich harmonies all their own. They and Kolessa's Four Preludes are a nice break from the melancholy and infinite sadness of the other pieces. The preludes set the hands in contrast to one another in mood and rhythm. Igor Schamo's Ukrainian Suite sparkles in II, 'Vesnyanka', a "ritual invocation of spring" that reminds me a little of Smetana's piano music. IV, 'Tanz', is catchy as well. Three of his 12 Preludes are here; the ones in G and F-sharp minor get pretty wild. Petrychenko plays beautifully. The sonics are complimentary; notes are in German and English.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased